St Marys Abbey Dublin
Address: Meetinghouse Lane, Off Capel Street, Dublin 1.
Telephone No: +353 1 833 1618
Fax No: +353 1 833 2636
Open 4th June - 26th September, on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, 10.00 - 17.00.
Open by prior arrangement for group visits.
Tours can be booked through the Casino, Marino from March 14th - Oct 31st.
Telephone: (01) 8331618
St. Mary's Abbey is one of Dublin's best kept secrets. It was once the wealthiest Cistercian Abbey in Ireland. Today only two rooms remain - the Chapter House and the Slype. The Abbey, founded in 1139, played a large role in the affairs of the state until its dissolution by Henry VIII in 1539. It was in the Chapter House that "Silken" Thomas Fitzgerald started his unsuccessful rebellion in 1534 and it is in this context that the Abbey is mentioned in the "Wandering Rocks" chapter of Ulysses by James Joyce. Today it contains a fascinating exhibition put together by the Office of Public Works along with the Dublin Archaeological Society and the History of Art Department of Trinity College, Dublin.
Location: Centre of Dublin. Off Capel Street. From O'Connell Street follow Luas line down Abbey Street Upper, cross Capel Street to street called Mary's Abbey, then first turn right into Meetinghouse Lane.
Bus Route(s): Between Jervis and Four Courts Luas stops.
Guided Tours: Self guiding
Tours by prior arrangement in the off-season: Tel: 01-8331618
Leaflet/Guide book: English, Irish.
Seasonal Events: Bloomsday 16th June. Contact site for further event information.
Photography / Video allowed: Yes. Permission required for commercial purposes.
Additional Information: Access by stone stairway.