Address: O'Rahilly Street, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary
Telephone: +353 (0) 67 33850
(The entrance to the Castle is on O'Rahilly Street and it can be reached via Banba Square)
April - October
Tuesday - Saturday
10am - 1pm & 2pm - 4.30pm
Last Admission: 3.45pm
FREE admission & FREE guided tours.
Public Toilet opposite entrance.
Public car park on O'Rahilly Street and courthouse car park.
Nenagh Castle (PDF)
The Castle is Nenagh's oldest building, and its construction in the 13th Century laid the foundation for the development of the town. Theobald FitzWalter, whose successors would become the Earls and Dukes of Ormond, built the castle, and upon its completion c.1220, it served as the main seat of the Butler family, until 1391.
The Castle boasts the finest cylindrical keep in Ireland. Like most keeps, it formed part of the perimeter of the fortress, being incorporated in the curtain walls surrounding a five-sided courtyard.
The Castle has had extensive renovations from 2009 to completion in June 2013.
Location: Nenagh Castle is centrally located in O'Rahilly Street just off the town centre, with the gated entrance behind the Nenagh Arts Centre which is in the town's main square - Banba Square.
Bus Route(s): Contact Bus Eireann, Travel Centre +353 1 8366111
Tours: Free guided tours available on request.
Maximum No.: 40
Duration: 30 minutes.
Groups: Groups of 15 or more must pre-book.
Leaflet/Guide book: English & Polish.
Seasonal Events: Please check in advance using contact details listed above.
Photography / Video allowed: Yes, but permission required for commercial purposes.
Additional Information: Please note that the stairs in the keep are very steep and narrow. The keep is not accessible for visitors with disabilities. There are interpretation panels on each floor of the castle which allow for self-guiding.